Twitter: a broadcasting channel or a relationship builder?

Goodness Helen’s posted something! Yes yes, I’ll admit that time is tight so forgive my lack of blogging, however the professional ‘PR’ Twitter approach is really beginning to depress me, so I have to say something.

Less and less people are using Twitter to its full potential. Due to the pressures on time, I feel myself being pushed into this category professionally, and I hate it. I’m using Twitter a lot less personally because I can’t do it properly for the moment.

For me, there is no question that Twitter is a relationship builder, it’s not simply a one-way street of teasers. It’s a listening tool, a community builder, an open exchange, it’s personal. Those who are pumping out tweets without bothering to learn their followers are missing out on the connection, the conversation, and dare I say it, the humanity that the platform can bring.

I want to get into a situation, personally and with clients, where I am investing more time in my Twitter followers; listening to them, finding out what interests them and adding value in some way. It’s being done by a few and it’s lovely to witness.

If we go the PR route where we simply push out content to this channel, it’s a lot easier for your followers to just walk away, unengaged. Whereas if you build a relationship with your network, they’re not going to want to leave, or put more positively, they’ll actually value and appreciate your contribution. It shouldn’t take too much imagination to see the ROI on that.

Leave a comment